Prices & Availability

Prices

6
Mon 1st Apr to Sat 29th Jun 2019
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday,
Bank Fisher £85
6
Mon 1st Jul to Sat 31st Aug 2019
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday,
Bank Fisher £100
6
Mon 2nd Sep to Tue 15th Oct 2019
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday,
Bank Fisher £120

May 2019

To make a booking click on the calendar on the first day of fishing

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
2021222324
25
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
26
27
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
28
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 28 May £85
1
29
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
30
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
31
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0

June 2019

To make a booking click on the calendar on the first day of fishing

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 1 June £85
1
2
3
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 3 June £85
3
4
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 4 June £85
3
5
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 5 June £85
3
6
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 6 June £85
6
7
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 7 June £85
6
8
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 8 June £85
6
9
10
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 10 June £85
6
11
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 11 June £85
6
12
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 12 June £85
6
13
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
14
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 14 June £85
6
15
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 15 June £85
5
16
17
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 17 June £85
6
18
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 18 June £85
4
19
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 19 June £85
6
20
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 20 June £85
6
21
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 21 June £85
6
22
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 22 June £85
6
23
24
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
25
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
26
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 26 June £85
4
27
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 27 June £85
4
28
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 28 June £85
2
29
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 29 June £85
4
30

July 2019

To make a booking click on the calendar on the first day of fishing

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
2
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
3
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
4
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
5
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 5 July £100
6
6
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 6 July £100
5
7
8
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 8 July £100
3
9
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 9 July £100
4
10
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 10 July £100
3
11
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 11 July £100
4
12
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 12 July £100
4
13
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 13 July £100
4
14
15
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 15 July £100
6
16
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 16 July £100
6
17
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 17 July £100
6
18
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 18 July £100
6
19
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 19 July £100
4
20
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 20 July £100
6
21
22
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 22 July £100
6
23
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 23 July £100
5
24
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 24 July £100
5
25
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 25 July £100
5
26
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 26 July £100
6
27
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 27 July £100
6
28
29
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 29 July £100
6
30
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 30 July £100
6
31
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 31 July £100
6

August 2019

To make a booking click on the calendar on the first day of fishing

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 1 August £100
6
2
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 2 August £100
6
3
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 3 August £100
6
4
5
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 5 August £100
6
6
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 6 August £100
6
7
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 7 August £100
6
8
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 8 August £100
6
9
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 9 August £100
6
10
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 10 August £100
6
11
12
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
13
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
14
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
15
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
16
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
17
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
18
19
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
20
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
21
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
22
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
23
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
24
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 24 August £100
4
25
26
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 26 August £100
3
27
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 27 August £100
3
28
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 28 August £100
3
29
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 29 August £100
2
30
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 30 August £100
2
31
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0

September 2019

To make a booking click on the calendar on the first day of fishing

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
2
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 2 September £120
3
3
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 3 September £120
5
4
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 4 September £120
1
5
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 5 September £120
5
6
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 6 September £120
5
7
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 7 September £120
6
8
9
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 9 September £120
6
10
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 10 September £120
6
11
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 11 September £120
6
12
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
13
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
14
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
15
16
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 16 September £120
6
17
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 17 September £120
6
18
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 18 September £120
6
19
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 19 September £120
6
20
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 20 September £120
6
21
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 21 September £120
4
22
23
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 23 September £120
6
24
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 24 September £120
6
25
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 25 September £120
6
26
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Thursday 26 September £120
6
27
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Friday 27 September £120
3
28
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Saturday 28 September £120
6
29
30
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0

October 2019

To make a booking click on the calendar on the first day of fishing

MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
1
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
2
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Wednesday 2 October £120
6
3
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
4
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
5
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
6
7
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
8
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
9
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
10
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
11
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
12
Sorry! - This time slot is currently being booked by someone else
0
13
14
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Monday 14 October £120
4
15
Book Bank Fisher Lower Kinnaird Beat on Tuesday 15 October £120
4
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Prices & Availability

Beat Summary

  • Beat Length 2 miles
  • Double Bank Fishing
  • Up To 8 Fishers per day
  • Ghillie Present
  • Five Year Average 101 Salmon
  • 6 Fishing Days Per Week
  • Fishing Hut
  • Tea & Coffee
  • Wood Burner
  • WC Facility
  • Kettle
  • Oven
  • Dishwasher
  • Plates, Cutlery, Cups & Glasses
  • Boat Hire Available
  • Refridgerator
  • Personal Ghillie Available
  • Equipment Hire Available
  • Catered Lunch Service Available

When It Comes To The Middle River Tay There Are Simply No Other Salmon Beats That Resonate With Salmon Fishing History As Much As The Famous Lower Kinnaird Beat.

Perfectly positioned immediately downstream of the River Tummel confluence and incorporating 14 named salmon pools including the last 3 pools on the River Tummel it is no wonder why the Lower Kinnaird beat is a perfect venue for catching salmon. The River Tummel which was appropriately named due to its fast water pools is an excellent Spring & early Summer salmon fishing Tay tributary. During the Spring months when snow melt has created high water in the River Tummel salmon prefer to hold back in the more relaxed flows of the Lower Kinnaird salmon pools. Early running Loch Tay salmon also stop on this perfect fly fishing venue as they navigate their way up through the middle Tay due to Lower Kinnaird's natural meandering pool formations.

I was fortunate to fish with 2 of the famous legendary Kinnaird ghillies in Callum Gillies & Bob Grant. Both men served Kinnaird for decades ensuring all Kinnaird salmon fishers had an expert approach to the beautiful Kinnaird salmon pools. These days another expert Tay ghillie heads up the Kinnaird salmon fishing operation in Martin Edgar who has been a Kinnaird ghillie for over 12 years. Martin’s excellent knowledge of the beat and hosting skills ensure a quality River Tay salmon fishing experience for all guests.

Many famous guests come to Kinnaird to fish such is its international fishing reputation and its perfect fly fishing pools like Junction, Ash Tree & Guay. This is truly one of these Tay salmon beats where you’re fully expecting your line to be tightened in every pool. On numerous occasions over recent seasons I’ve witnessed this magnificent River Tay beat absolutely full of salmon and have lost count of the number of first time salmon fishers who never thought catching salmon on the fly was so easy!

Beat Map

Download MapSave to PhoneView Large Map

Zoom into the Google map to see exact salmon pool locations
click or hover mouse over the salmon icons for the pool names

'Fish Of The Month' Prize

Fish Of The Month Prize

Throughout each month of the Scottish salmon fishing season one bottle of malt whisky will be presented to a salmon fishing client of this booking platform who provides the best quality photograph of a specimen salmon that they caught on any of this website's participating salmon beats.

Find Out More

Jock's Appraisal

I recall a first time salmon fishing client who I took to Lower Kinnaird telling me that he'd had a great intoductory day having landed 4 fresh run salmon on the fly. He said as he was leaving that he preferred to fish for trout though as he found trout fishing more challenging! This is what happens when this perfect River Tay salmon beat is on song.

I also recall a few years back in March when a young fishing guest to the amazement of his father & grandfather landed 2 perfect fresh run twenty pounders from the famous ‘Ash Tree’ pool within 90 minutes of ever touching a salmon fly rod!

Lower Kinnaird's classic fly pools fish well during all water heights and if catching salmon on the fly is your goal then this is the beat to fish. I've also personally witnessed salmon being caught on Lower Kinnaird on the fly as early as January & February such is this middle Tay beat's 'unique' high or low water salmon holding qualities.

Jock Monteith Professional Scottish Salmon Fishing Guide & Provider

Professional Scottish Salmon Fishing Services Provider

Catch Statistics

Monthly Salmon & Grilse recorded catches

20152016201720182019
Jan
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Feb
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Mar
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Apr
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
May
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
June
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
July
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Aug
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Sept
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Oct
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon
Salmon Catch Icon

Mouse over or tap to see numbers

Please bear in mind that 'catch statistics' in recent years have become an industry driver but they do not take into account the actual 'rod pressure' applied in achieving these figures.

There's much more to Scottish salmon fishing than the inevitable 'end result' of enough fishers being present or being in the right place at the right time.

The riverbank beauty & ambiance, the hypnotic flow of the stream, the hospitality of the ghillie and just enjoying 'the escape' from normal stressful work duties has always been the primary attraction of Scottish salmon fishing where a salmon was always regarded as a bonus.

Beat Directions

Travelling From the South: From Perth take the A9 north signposted Inverness, travel past the Dunkeld exit and 1.5 miles on drive past the B898 exit on the left signposted for Kinnaird (stay on the A9) & cross over the Tay A9 motorway bridge (zero your vehicle's odometer) and continue on the A9 (passing Dowally on the right, passing the turning for Guay on the right and passing Kindallachan on the right, passing layby No. 28 on the left) then signal left. Turn left off the A9 exactly 4.1 miles from the A9 motorway bridge. The left hand turn off the A9 is marked by a small cottage on the left hand side of the motorway and points directly at Kinnaird House on the other side of the valley. Drive straight ahead towards the river, going under the railway to the green fishing hut.

Travelling From the North: From Pitlochry, head south on the A9 passing Ballinluig where shortly thereafter the dual carriageway ends. Continue for a few minutes after the end of the dual carriageway until you pass a farm and small cottage on the right hand side of the A9. You will then see a line of high coniferous trees on the right hand side of the A9. At this line of high coniferous trees signal right. The right hand turn off the A9 is at the next small cottage after the line of coniferous trees and points directly at Kinnaird House on the other side of the valley. Drive straight ahead towards the river, going under the railway to the green fishing hut.

Satnav Post Code: PH9 0NN